League of Legends Champion Review: Volibear, The Thunder’s Roar

Warning: Never get Volibear wet.

Thing’s certainly aren’t what they seem, are they? When I started playing Riot Games’ League of Legends, I thought to myself, “Wow, there aren’t very many champs to choose from.” Now it seems they’re just pumping them out every single week. I’ve played through the most recent ones but none of them have intrigued me quite like Volibear, The Thunder’s Roar. First of all, he’s an armored bear. Not only an armored bear, a lightningarmored bear. What’s that sound? Oh. It’s the draining of my Influence Points for this bad boy — er, bear. But as soon as I clicked Buy I got what I like to call IP Anxiety. Thoughts like “What if I just wasted all of my IP on this champ for nothing?” or “Why didn’t I just buy runes instead?” Riot never really reviews their champions and no one really gives you a clear, concise, point for point review of whether or not you should buy this champion. Well that, my friends, is going to change. This is our League of Legends Champion Review.Volibear, just like every champion in the League, has three standard moves, an ultimate and a Passive. They are Chosen of the Storm (Passive), Rolling Thunder, Frenzy, Majestic Roar, and, his ultimate, Thunder Claws.Chosen of the Storm heals Volibear rapidly when his health reaches a critical low. I personally have had this save my life multiple times. It’s a great passive, and it goes great with Heal. Once my passive is triggered I will pop a heal and boom, I’m back up to half health and destroying “those that follow in my wake.”

The Ursine do not know fear

Rolling Thunder is a speedy charge that drops you to all fours and has you charge at your foe. The first enemy that you hit is launched behind you. I’ve found this to be very valuable and even LoLarious at times for the same reasons as Singed’s fling, Urgot’s position switch and Blitz’s rocket grab. Positioning is so important in LoL…any move that messes with an opponent’s positioning is bound to bring the power. I level Rolling Thunder 2nd right after Voli’s W, Frenzy.

Frenzy is your bread and butter skill. It’s the most important move for Volibear as far as owning enemies goes. Hit someone or something three times and then you get bonus attack speed and a bite that does a large amount of physical damage, increased by 1% for every 1% of health that champion is missing. It can definitely help you out in a tight bind and take the opponent’s advantage away in an instant.

Majestic Roar is a great slow that works in combination with Rolling Thunder. Roar can also help with pushing a lane in Classic because, remember, it applies a three-second fear to minions.

Volibear’s ultimate is Thunder Claws, which causes Volibear’s basic attacks to deal splash damage. The combination of Thunder Claws and Majestic Roar can help you in a team fight, as well as farming and keeping the odds in your favor in lane.

The major downfall to Volibear however is that he has no hard Crowd Control. One of the things that I use Volibear for in Classic the most is Jungling. He is a very quick jungler due to his W’s attack speed buff. It only takes me 2 or 3 pots and I’m at level 6 or 7 with a Wriggles. Voli can be used effectively for Ganks with his Rolling Thunder and Majestic Roar in combination. It’s a great way to take out enemies and then I can push lane with my ult and E.

Tanky DPS Voli and Fizz.../all gg

With Volibear in Classic I will usually take Cloth armor and 5 pots. From there I build a Wriggle’s Lantern, and Boots of Speed, which I turn into Mercury’s Treads or Ionian Boots of Lucidity, depending on how much crowd control or magic damage I have to deal with. From there, I build Trinity Force, Warmog’s Armor, Atma’s Impaler, and Force of Nature. In Dominion I get Ionian Boots of Lucidity, Trinity Force, Entropy, Sunfire Cape, Atma’s Impaler, and either The Lightbringer if I’m feeling Attack Speedy or Guinsoo’s Rageblade if I want my Ult and E to have some extra oomph. My Runes are Attack Speed Seals, Cooldown Glyphs, and Armor Penetration Marks and Quintessence. My masteries are 21/9/0 putting in mainly AD while making minion type slots a priority.

Overall, I would take this week, since he’s free, to give Volibear a try and see if he’s right for you, but if you aren’t a fan of jungling or tanky DPS or tanks in general then just let it be and give your IP or RP to another champion. I personally enjoy him in Dominion games and jungling, but I don’t see him being played in many of the MLG type circuits. I’m hoping that people will see this good ol’ Armored Bear for what he is, a fun Champion to mess around with. I think he can be viable in Summoner’s Rift while jungling but I’d stick to a better one like Warwick, Nocturne or my boy Skarner. That was your friendly neighborhood Thief with The Community’s first and most certainly not last League of Legends Champion Review.

About Thief92

Thief92 is a media soak. He is a recent High School Graduate, going to be attending College in the fall for Video Game Design and Journalism and loves Video Games, Movies and Television View all posts by Thief92

Leave a Reply

