Nintendo 3DS Ambassador: GBA Games, Worth It?

The Nintendo 3DS NES Ambassador games were not very pleasing to me. I got quite a bit of flack about my opinions but I stand by them. The games were not what they should have been and half of them should have stayed in the past where they belong. Now, the GBA Ambassador Games are a completely different story. Those 10 games are as follows:

  1. Metroid Fusion
  2. The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap
  3. Wario Land 4
  4. WarioWare, Inc.: Mega Microgame$
  5. Mario vs. Donkey Kong,
  6. Mario Kart: Super Circuit
  7. Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario Advance 3
  8. Kirby & The Amazing Mirror
  9. F-Zero: Maximum Velocity
  10. Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones

Same rules as last time. Four bucks a game. So let’s just dive right into the GBA Ambassador Games and see whether or not they’re worth my 40 dollars.

Ahh, Memories.

Metroid Fusion
– Man, Metroid Fusion…I had so many great memories with this one. It was one of the first Metroid games I’d ever played. I pretty much loved everything about Samus’s adventure of visiting the stray spaceship in order to reclaim her suit, from the development of Samus to the ending boss and of course the collecting. This game earns my $4. Next game.

Damn Hat won't Shut Up!

The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap
– Now this one, believe it or not, is new to me. I’ve always heard of the Minish Cap but I was never able to get down to it. It’s developed by Nintendo and Capcom and I’ve gotta tell ya, I enjoy it. It’s right before Skyward Sword on the Zelda Timeline, and it just makes so much sense. This is the story of where the new Link got his “Legendary” hat from and saved the new Zelda…Okay it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense but still, it’s an enjoyable game and believe it or not, I love top down perspective Zelda games. So yeah, it gets my $4’s.

Money...Fucking Birds...

Wario Land 4
– This is pretty much middle of the road for me. You may know if you’ve read my reviews that I just love platforming, but this doesn’t do much for me. Don’t get me wrong; it’s a great game. But it just doesn’t really do anything for me. Now, that being said, if I’m on the crapper and there’s a game on my 3DS I can play, for some reason, I always go for Wario Land 4. So I’d say it’s somehow worth my $4 dollars … just don’t drop ‘em in the toilet.

QuickTime Events...All Game...

WarioWare, Inc.: Mega Microgame$
– Ahh, Now THIS is a Wario game I can get behind. Wario was always known for being the evil twin of Mario, until this game changed that idea. They gave Wario his own setting, his own cool world, and his own zany characters to be around. Not only that but the game is just full of mini-games. I hear all of the doors shutting, but hear me out. They’re a test of speed and skill as well as memorization, and it’s just very interesting to me. There are some weird games like “pick the nose” or “put the thread in the needle,” but it’s finally Wario’s own style. Four dollars ahoy!

Remake? You wish!

Mario Vs. Donkey Kong
– Somehow, I feel like a kid playing Donkey Kong on Gameboy again. Mario Vs. Donkey Kong is literally Donkey Kong from back on the Gameboy era. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing but I just don’t really know what I think about it. The platforming is fun, the problem solving is creative and it’s sort of a throwback from a time when DK wasn’t really in any spectacular titles. Four dollars.

Super Circuit...More like...oh forget it.

Mario Kart: Super Circuit
– I don’t know what it is, but I am a sucker for Mario Kart. I loathe people that talk about cars 24/7 and I hate NASCAR, but somehow Mario Kart reaches its way into my heart and just lives there all snug. Of the games on this list, I’ve played Mario Kart: Super Circuit the 2nd most out of all these games. It’s just a damned good game and well worth the four bucks.

Platforming in God Form.

Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario Advance 3
– Finally. It had been forever since I’d played Yoshi’s Island, and I don’t have it in my collection because someone stole it from me! Sorry about that aside; I’m still stinging. Anyway, if Wario Land 4 is middle of the road, then this is one of the crowning fucking achievements of Platforming. Yoshi’s Island has given me so many memories. Not only that, but it’s one of the finest platformers to ever grace any console. So yes, it’s worth my $4. Hell, it’s worth my $40. I would pay you any amount of money to be able to just play this game for the rest of my life.

Right Back Atcha!

Kirby and the Amazing Mirror
– I have a confession to make…I didn’t play many Kirby games, and by many I mean almost all of them. So when I played Kirby and the Amazing Mirror I somehow felt an overabundance of joy. I never played Kirby except in Smash Bros. games and it wasn’t anything against Kirby, but he was just a pink ball of joy. P.S. My favorite weapon is the Cutter. It’s worth my $4, so next game.

F-Zero...Hard Racing thats...Hard...

F-Zero Maximum Velocity
– We need more F-Zero in our lives. I hope everyone understands this: If Mario Kart is supposed to be fun, F-Zero is supposed to kick you across the room and throw you out of the house. Make no mistake, ladies and gentleman, F-Zero Maximum Velocity is hard as shit, but it’s also damned fun. The game takes a lot of focus and control, and I’m willing to give F-Zero my attention. I’m also willing to give it my $4. SEGUE!

Chess RPG...Booyah

Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones
– Fire Emblem reminds me of an original RPG, sort of like Dungeons and Dragons. This was my first impression of a Fire Emblem game, and I definitely enjoyed it. I am eager to finish this bad boy and give it my $4.

I don’t know what it is about fourth quarter comebacks and Nintendo but they somehow managed to pull it out this year. Super Mario 3D Land, Mario Kart 7, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, and Kirby: Return to Dream Land somehow managed to pull the 3DS and Wii out from the dark. Just as I was ready to be disappointed with the Game Boy Advance games given to me, I ended up enjoying all of them. Nintendo somehow has made it their mission to please their fans, it just takes a bit of time. Thankfully, they were great.

Thanks for reading everyone, and get ready, because next week is Holiday Hangover, when we’re going to be hitting you Monday through Friday with new content from us here at The Community.

About Thief92

Thief92 is a media soak. He is a recent High School Graduate, going to be attending College in the fall for Video Game Design and Journalism and loves Video Games, Movies and Television View all posts by Thief92

One response to “Nintendo 3DS Ambassador: GBA Games, Worth It?

Leave a Reply

