Dark Ascension is finally here! Part 1

The long wait is over!  Sweeeeeeet.  This is the first of several articles I’m going to put up, giving my opinions on the new set: Dark Ascension!  You should definitely pay close attention to what I have to say, ‘specially if you’re relatively new to the game.  I may indeed drop some pointers for both limited and constructed play.
So, first and foremost, let’s start of with everyone’s favorite color (or at least the one with, in my honest opinion, the most popularity): White.

http://www.wizards.com/magic/tcg/article.aspx?x=mtg/tcg/darkascension/cig#

The link above will take you to Wizards of the Coast’s image spoiler page for the white cards in ascension.  Go ahead, take a quick glance.

Done yet?  Alright, I’ll give another second.

So now that you have looked over all the white cards, let me tell you what I think.  Of all the rares, and even mythics, only one really stands out: Thalia, Guardian of Thraben.  And not even for standard play.  I think she’ll be a fantastic addition to the arsenal that any Death and Taxes deck brings to the table.  Really, nothing else stands out.  Honest.  It’s like that person in your high school that thought she was so hot and smart, and still works at Wal-mart.  Yeah, she made manager.  But it’s still Wal-mart.

There are some rays of hope, though.  For instance, Lingering Souls shows some definite promise, especially with some of the other cards in the set (but I’ll get to those later).

It’s a slower midnight haunting, but doesn’t  require another $30 card to play it again.

I also do like Nibilis of the Urn; it has a chance of seeing constructed play as well, as it has some synergy with other cards in the set (yet again, I’ll get to that later).

But, you didn’t think this would all be about constructed play, did you?  Good, because now I’m going to explain what I think about the cards for limited (for those of you who don’t know the lingo too well, limited is draft or sealed play).  Thalia I’m afraid won’t be too great for limited, but I wouldn’t regret seeing her in my card pool; first strike is always welcome on a cheap creature.  Lingering Souls will definitely be fantastic for limited, as getting more creatures off of one card is great, and playing it twice is even better.  To top it all off, they fly.  What could be better?

How about getting five creatures for one card?  Yeah, you heard me right.  Increasing Devotion and Gather the Townsfolk I think have a great chance of being quite good in limited.  It’s always good to have more creatures than your opponent, and considering there weren’t too many board wipes in Innistrad, I really don’t think you have to worry about walking into a pyroclasm.  Increasing Devotion’s cost is a bit hefty, but great for having chump blockers around.  And, you can play it the turn before your bomb.

Which, in white’s case, is Requiem Angel.  Yup, you heard me.  Constructed crap is almost always Limited gold.  A 5/5 flyer for six?  Ends the game in four turns if your opponent can’t answer it with his own flyer, and will almost always be bigger than his.  Oh wait, it actually has an ability?  That’s even better.  Oh, you mean whenever one of my other non-spirit creatures dies (like some of those human tokens I just put into play last turn?), I get a 1/1 white spirit flyer to replace it?  Sounds like a definite bomb to me.

And the honorable mention goes to: Thraben Doomsayer.

It’s all going to end!  Well, actually, just this article, but not quite yet.  A 2/2 for three isn’t great, but when you toss in the fact that he’s a token generator, that helps.  Oh wait, if the game hasn’t been going well for you, he pumps all other creatures you control by +2/+2.  Hmm…that seems great.  More than great, it could mean the end of the game for your opponent, specially in combination with those other tokens you seem to have there.

And, with that, I’ll leave you to ‘ponder’ the other possibilities that white has to offer in Dark Ascension.

About TheScourgeXV88

Scourge is an ambitious gamer who loves single player FPS and tower defense games. He will eventually realize his love/hate relationship with both people and LoL simultaneously. Aside from the obvious, he is also an avid Magic: The Gathering player, and has been to college for Computer Sciences, Physics, and soon to be Business. View all posts by TheScourgeXV88

Leave a Reply

