Gearbox Goes Green, Recycles Midgets (Borderlands 2)

Since this just got announced yesterday, I just HAD to put my two cents in about how I am going to joy puke my face off for Borderlands 2. Coming from someone who enjoyed giving Gearbox his $100 for Duke Nukem Forever (Balls of Steel Edition) it comes as no shock that I’m stoked for Borderlands 2. But before I get into why I’m excited about Borderlands 2, let me give a little detail on why I feel massively more interested from just seeing the new trailer.

Man...I wish that was real...

I’ve definitely got a complaint about the lack of variety when it comes to enemies. There are skags, psychos, midget psychos, bruisers, etc. And they had “badass” versions of themselves (man what is it with me and the word badass lately?). And they were all fun, even goofy at times, especially when you blew their bodies to bits. But Borderlands was marketed as a HUGE RPG/FPS hybrid. I don’t know if I’m the only one, but I felt that Borderlands lacked in its enemies department for a game claiming to be an RPG. And sure the four DLC Expansion packs helped but not enough for me to really enjoy Borderlands to the fullest.

Brown...and gray...Dullfest...

However, one of the biggest complaints I’ve heard about the original Borderlands was about the graphics, and that was rightfully so. The game was cell-shaded, which is good. Cell shading definitely belongs in the world of video games, but if you’re going to use it, use it correctly. Gearbox was a bit color-blind (in the literal sense) when they were making Borderlands, because it was a barren wasteland, with no color … but it was cell-shaded. That’s truthfully the only thing that REALLY irked me about Borderlands. It’s just my opinion. I know tons of people who absolutely LOVED Borderlands, and I was right there with them. Those were just my two biggest beefs. Now, lets shift our focus from the negative to the positive.

Borderlands 2 originally leaked (accidentally) by Randy Pitchford at Gearbox Community Day in Dallas Texas. It was then officially revealed on August 2, 2011. For those unfamiliar with Borderlands, you pick from four different character classes — this time around four new characters — and you start your adventure in Pandora. The new characters are Salvator, Maya, Axton and Zero. There are similarities to characters from the previous title, but the only one that I can’t seem to place is Zero. However, when the time comes for me to strap in, he will be my first character to play through.

Zero...What did I say about stabbing people in the dick?!

Why you ask? Well if cutting a robot in half with a sword and then stabbing a man with said sword in the dick isn’t awesome, then I don’t know what is. One other nifty thing about Borderlands 2 that I find delightful is that the previous characters: Roland, Lillith, Brick, and Mordecai, will all be included in this installment as NPCs. We found this out around Gamescom when roughly 14 minutes of leaked gameplay footage was shown for Borderlands 2.

I'll cut off every robot limb!

The graphics and the new enemies are also looking awesome. Yeah, the article is coming full circle now. The graphics look to be very vibrant and colorful. If you’ve read previous articles and reviews of mine, you know that I am a huge supporter of color in video games. Sure, I like playing some Call of Duty or Gears of War now and then, but I’m all about using everything that is given to you. Randy Pitchford actually joked in the aforementioned leaked footage saying that his developers “found out what a color palette is,” which I find to be hysterical. The graphics look more like a colorful world that I am dying to explore, rather than just a desolate wasteland. The aesthetic choice is brilliant for Borderlands 2 and I think they’re going to capture it to a tee.

The new enemies also look quite badass. If you watch the newest Borderlands 2 trailer (which I conveniently added into this article. How ‘bout that?) you notice that there are what looks to be some new robot enemies, as well as giant worms, some sort of arctic enemy and a giant cloaked guy, annnnd … some other things I’m really just speculating about. They all look like they’re going to be so fun to kill. To help you out, they’ve given us a whole new talent tree with a bunch of new choices to create the ultimate killing machine.

Pay thine bills

Speaking of new things, there are also what look to be new aerial vehicles and a new four-seater truck: one person drives, one mans the turret and the others ask if they’re there yet. I’m just looking at all of this new content and I realize my excitement is at critical mass. Then in the beginning of the trailer, I remember it reads “87 bazillion guns, just got bazillionder.” So I’ve been given a gun that shoots incendiary bullets, one that shoots lightning, and guns that are affected by gravity and create a mushroom cloud when they hit. And you tell me I’m going to get even more than that?!   I cannot believe I didn’t put this game on my Top Ten Anticipated Games list. I feel I have very good reason to have done so.

I'll hold your head in my hand...

Borderlands 2 looks even more promising than its predecessor. With more guns, more enemies, prettier graphics and new characters and a (what seems to me) revamped Pandora, things are only looking up for Gearbox and Borderlands. The series is a blend of action, RPG, a little bit of sci-fi and a whole lot of goofy, and it definitely doesn’t hide it. Borderlands 2 knows exactly what it wants to be, and I believe it will end up being just that and much more … with 96.5% more WUB WUB.

About Thief92

Thief92 is a media soak. He is a recent High School Graduate, going to be attending College in the fall for Video Game Design and Journalism and loves Video Games, Movies and Television View all posts by Thief92

2 responses to “Gearbox Goes Green, Recycles Midgets (Borderlands 2)

Leave a Reply

